hack-handler-webkit

So I had the idea the other day to make it possible to turn Hack web applications into standalone GUIs. I prefer writing web apps to desktop apps with, for example, GTK, so being able to run arbitrary web apps as if they are simply desktop ones would be a big boon for me. Plus, it means you can live the dream of writing an application once and having it run client-server and locally.

I ripped off the sample for the GTK Webkit port, removed some of the features (I decided I didn’t want back/forward buttons or an address bar), wrote some FFI code, combined it all with hack-handler-simpleserver, and created hack-handler-webkit.

Caveats:

  • The code is not incredibly beautiful, especially since I’ve never written FFI code before (hack-handler-fastcgi was just a ripoff of the original fastcgi package).
  • I’ve only tested it on Ubuntu Jaunty. It doesn’t really do much checking, just uses pkg-config to check for the existence of the webkit-1.0 package. I doubt this will work for other distributions.
  • As stated above, it uses the GTK port. I would like to get this working for Windows and Mac as well, without using the GTK port. If anyone would like to fork this on github and add that functionality, it would be much appreciated.

If you’re running Ubuntu and wanted to give this a try, do the following:

  1. apt-get the correct stuff. I think you’ll just need libwebkit-dev (ie, apt-get install libwebkit-dev).
  2. Download hack-handler-webkit from github and install it. It’s not an hackage yet for obvious reasons.
  3. I branched the hack-samples package I spoke about last week to use this webkit backend. Go ahead and try that out.

Comments, suggestions and bug reports are much appreciated!

One Response to “hack-handler-webkit”

  1. Embedding files in a binary « The Snoyblog Says:

    […] The Snoyblog Michael Snoyman’s Ramblings « hack-handler-webkit […]

Leave a Reply

